The Australian Government has recently announced major changes to international border restrictions, permitting eligible visa holders to enter Australia as of 1 December 2021 without needing to apply for a travel exemption.

Under these arrangements, travellers must:

  • Be fully vaccinated with a completed dosage of a vaccine approved or recognised by Australia’s Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA);
  • Hold a valid visa for one of the eligible visa subclasses;
  • Provide proof of their vaccination status; and
  • Present a negative COVID-19 Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test taken within three days of departure.

Additionally, travellers must comply with the quarantine requirements in the state or territory of their arrival, and any other state or territory to which they plan to travel. For more information, visit:

Eligible visa subclasses:

At present, eligible visa holders are people who hold the following visas:

  • Subclass 300 – Prospective Marriage visa;
  • Subclass 400 – Temporary Work (Short Stay Specialist) visa;
  • Subclass 407 – Training visa;
  • Subclass 408 – Temporary Activity visa;
  • Subclass 417 – Working Holiday visa;
  • Subclass 457 – Temporary Work (Skilled) visa;
  • Subclass 461 – New Zealand Citizen Family Relationship visa;
  • Subclass 462 – Work and Holiday visa;
  • Subclass 476 – Skilled – Recognised Graduate visa;
  • Subclass 482 – Temporary Skill Shortage visa;
  • Subclass 485 – Temporary Graduate visa;
  • Subclass 489 – Skilled – Regional (Provisional) visa;
  • Subclass 491 – Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa;
  • Subclass 494 – Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional) visa;
  • Subclass 500 – Student visa;
  • Subclass 590 – Student Guardian visa;
  • Subclass 870 – Sponsored Parent (Temporary) visa.

This is very welcome news after a long 18 months of restrictions for our valued temporary visa holders!

Need assistance with your visa application process? Contact us today at [email protected]