On 2 September 2020, the Department of Home Affairs announced the introduction of the new Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List or PMSOL. The list includes 17 occupations from across the healthcare, construction and IT sectors that will assist in Australia’s COVID-19 recovery.

In the official media statement, Acting Minister for Immigration said: “Our priority is getting Australians back into work but we also need key health workers to help fight the virus and skilled migrants who are going to be job multipliers, to help the economy recover”.

The occupations are as follows:

  • Chief Executive or Managing Director (111111)
  • Construction Project Manager (133111)
  • Mechanical Engineer (233512)
  • General Practitioner (253111)
  • Resident Medical Officer (253112)
  • Psychiatrist (253411)
  • Medical Practitioner nec (253999)
  • Midwife (254111)
  • Registered Nurse (Aged Care) (254412)
  • Registered Nurse (Critical Care and Emergency) (254415)
  • Registered Nurse (Medical) (254418)
  • Registered Nurse (Mental Health) (254422)
  • Registered Nurse (Perioperative) (254423)
  • Registered Nurses nec (254499)
  • Developer Programmer (261312)
  • Software Engineer (261313)
  • Maintenance Planner (312911)

Visa holders sponsored in PMSOL occupations can request an exemption from Australia’s current travel restrictions, however must undertake the mandatory 14-day quarantine upon arrival at their own expense.

In addition to the introduction of PMSOL, Home Affairs have introduced new labour market testing (advertising) requirements for all Australian Standard Business Sponsors.

Businesses are required to advertise on three national platforms before nominating international employees, rather than two as per previous criteria.

Have a question regarding an international employee? Let us know at [email protected]